I have this notion that everyone has hidden truths or they don’t always show their true self, no matter what setting they are put in. This may just be my observation or it could do with the fact that I don’t believe that I’ve ever been able to live my life on my own terms.

Ever since I was about three years old my fate has been determined for me, I don’t say this as a bad thing, but my younger sister was born with special needs. I have always taken a back seat to that and have always been the “YES” kid. As much as I hated to do it, it was the right thing to do. I still, at 27 years old, am the same old “YES” kid. It’s just something that has been expected of me and, trust me, there have been many times where I thought about straying from being that “YES” kid, but the fight waiting at the end of that was and is just not worth it.

This is just a little glimpse of what my life has been like since I was three years old. Some things are hard to explain let alone put into words on a blank sheet of paper, but this brings me back to the notion of hidden truths and that there are people out there that just can’t wait to break out and can’t wait to live life by their own rules instead of being the “YES” kid.

I want this to be a platform for all of those who think that they can’t be themselves to just let go and open up! All truths UNHIDDEN! I, myself, am working on this same goal and I think that it is one that needs to be shared. So follow me or walk with me on this journey of life!

Cortney